Forum Message

Topic: Re:Local Putney Olympians!
Posted by: James Elder
Date/Time: 08/08/08 15:49:00

Indeed, it's one of the nice things about Thames that we range from complete beginners to Olympic medallists - it's a real fillip for those who are just starting out in the sport to know that they are rowing under the same colours as these people.  We are also bracing ourselves for a post-Olympic surge of interest!

It's inevitable that national team members train elsewhere so we don't see that much of them.  However Elise, Ali and Beth (and Baz, who hasn't made the team this year but got a World Bronze last year) have all made a real effort to involve themselves in the life of the club and have many friends amongst the club-level rowers.

Elise has been rowing at Thames since around 1994, working her way up through club rowing before making her Olympic debut in Sydney.  She's on the small side for an international rower and has made the squad or rowing skill and guts rather than brute strength.  She's fought back against injury, illness and a horrible incident just after the Athens Games when she was knocked off her bike at speed by a hit-and-run white-van driver.  Knowlesy has had a similar fight against back injury, knee injury and seemingly endless viruses.

They all plug away in a very unglamorous life shuttling between rowing lakes, rivers and gyms, working hours for tiny but crucial improvements in technique, strength and endurance.  Even though much of the winter is spent abroad in warm-weather training, I know from talking to them that the novelty of this wears off very quickly - it definitely isn't a holiday!